top of page

Hidden Food Gems You Must Try in "The Valley"


The San Fernando Valley, where the 5 meets the 405, to the 101, to the 134, the 210 and back around. Being a native, born and raised all around this wonderful gem, I've taken the opportunity to get to know the differences between each little town. We are encompassed by the most traffic filled freeways in California, but are comprised of the most diverse selection of foods. Are you a fan of Pho, Burgers, and Mexican food? Of course you are! Who doesn't like food? When you live in the valley, chance are, you are also a critical foodie as well..why? because, food man!

Growing up, I remember my Godfather coming to visit from Northern California to work in SoCal. He was by far the biggest foodie I had ever met, and lucky for me, my mom didn't trail too far behind. The most explicit memory I have of his visits was that EVERY location we ate at, was literally the smallest hole in the wall! He would always say that there was no better food than the food you ate from the little tia or grandma in the back behind the comal. At 30 years old, I've finally come to appreciate the food lessons I learned from my Godfather and momma.

So without further adieu, I'd like to present to you some of my favorite hidden gems in this famous valley, you know, from an actual native's perspective;)

1. Carrillo's Tortilleria

I'm not your typical salad kind of girl, so Carrillo's has my best interest at heart. Located in the tiny town of San Fernando, Ca, every local here will tell you they line up around the block just to order their famous tamales for Christmas, and their homemade Menudo on Sunday mornings. If you ever ask me what my favorite restaurant is, I will always tell you Carrillo's! From the handmade tortilla's, flour being my favorite, to the burritos and barbacoa, there is an authentic mexican meal for everyone! Nothing here is frozen, and every bite you take will make you feel like your abuela was really angry while making her famous salsa. Just kidding, not all the salsa is THAT hot, but if you ask for it, you will get it **Hint- Ask for the green mild and red mild salsa, even though I LOVE it hot, the taste of their mild salsa's never fail me!** This location is definitely up to date and accepts credit cards, however, parking is not of the abundance. Call in your order to avoid lines and enjoy my favorite little gem:)

Carrillo's Tortilleria

1242 Pico St.

San Fernando, Ca 91340

2. Marie et. Cie

I recently stumbled upon this darling location and I'm in love! Located in the quaint town of Valley Village, Marie et Cie has something for everyone. Although a coffee shop, it is also a Gelato stop and a great souvenir shop. Many locals come here because of the ambience, the relaxing sofas outside, and the calming waterfalls. This hidden gem is surrounded by shade from the palms and a cool breeze. But the ambience isn't all you should come here for, their coffee is actually amazing! There's a sign inside that states "good friends don't let friends drink Starbucks" and I agree with them! A veteran barista of the siren company myself, I have to say I suggest this little spot for all my coffee meetings. When you stop in, give their white chocolate mocha a try, its Ghiradelli, Lord knows a girl cannot pass up a chance with Ghiradelli! But that drink is my guilty pleasure! Also, you're welcome;)

Marie et. Cie

11704 Riverside Dr.

Valley Village, Ca 91607

3. Stout Burgers and Beers

Oh Stout, I have dreams of these burgers...Yes, I know it is a chain, but I cannot write about my favorite places without including Stout! But to be honest, the only reason I tried this place was because they had a burger named "The Goombah", and if you know anything about Mario Bro's., then you are going to want to try this burger as well. This isn't your basic kind of burger restaurant, so if you're looking for just the meat and cheese, maybe a slice of lettuce and tomato, then you need to keep searching. Stout has a variety of toppings which include; prosciutto, fig jam, rosemary bacon and more! Take your best friend and split some amazing fries with a variety of dipping sauces and you've got yourself a party in your tummy! Oh, and don't forget to help that food go down with a nice cold one, after all, you can't go to stout without a beer! May I suggest Orange Wheat if you prefer a not so dark kind of beer! You can thank me later!

stoutburgersandbeers.com (for locations)

4. Fat Dragon

I recently tried Fat Dragon at an LA Times Food Bowl in Downtown and loved it! Now, this section's review is solely about their teas, I have not yet tried their food. However, their teas are a MUST try! My top go to's are the Passion Fruit Cucumber Goji Berry and Strawberry Basil. Pictured to the right is the Goji Berry, it has the perfect tart, and sweet infusion which is perfect for a hot day, AND, the goji berries that they throw in are perfectly edible and so so yummy! They also include a fortune cookie to complete your trip to their location. Each of their teas are made fresh and include the actual fruit and veggie unlike other locations which are just steeped teabags. Don't be basic guys, try Fat Dragon!

Fat Dragon

3500 W Sunset Blvd.

Los Angeles, Ca

5. Leo's Taco Truck

Tacos! Tacos! Tacos! No food blog I make would be complete without my including some bomb tacos! Now, being an ex Uber/Lyft driver, I have tried A LOT of tacos on multiple stops, so i'm pretty much a taco expert, so after my review of Leo's, chances are you will be running out of your door to get your hands on some of these drool worthy tacos! You can go to any taco stop and ask for tacos Al Pastor, but you won't get it like you would at Leo's; topped with a pineapple slice....GENIUS! I'll admit at first I was pretty skeptical, like, who puts fruit on their tacos? gross! But I was wrong, Leo know's EXACTLY what he's doing! Top it with some of their onions, cilantro, and avocado salsa, and you've got heaven in your mouth! These taco's will leave you drooling for days! Okay, maybe not days, but you will definitely make this place your new taco tuesday stop if you haven't already! with more than 5 locations around LA, you'll have options no matter where you go! And just a heads up, bring cash, because this location is cash only, and is guaranteed a line on each visit, so plan accordingly guys!

Leo'sTacoTruck.com (for locations)

And there you have it, hidden gems in the valley to enjoy like a local. I hope you love these yummy locations as much as I do and feel free to inquire for more go to's if you aren't from here! I'd love to hear more of what you are looking for<3 Now go eat!

Photo Cred: Myself and Yelp

bottom of page